RPC Method called, LEDs flash and stops transmitting?

Hi there, I have a program on my computer (herein referred to as “MAS”) and a program on the H7 (herein referred to as “SLA”) that are modelled after the sample programs that allow for image jpeg streaming through the RPC library. The programs work fine until MAS calls a method on SLA. In MAS’s program it give it time (5 seconds) to begin image streaming before calling the method, but once it’s called the H7 will flash red two times and then white once, and then MAS will continue outputting the most recent fps reading and the video will be frozen.

The method on SLA has logic to return either true or false, which I may be doing wrong since I’m new to python also. Depending on the state of the code, I have SLA setting “status” = False or = True, and returning “struct.pack(”?“, status)” to return a bool.

Any advice?

As a new finding, this LED flashing also happens if I try to turn the green LED ON before entering the loop function (pyb.led(2).on() before interface.loop()).

It’s really hard to have any advice without some kind of specific debugging on your part. The issue could be anything.

Of note… people have founds issues with the timeouts on the USB VPC based RPC stream and have not found it to be that reliable. It works on some PCs and not on others. You might try to update the basic timeouts for it.

The library was written specifically for UART/I2C/SPI interfaces. However, while it can be used on any interface, the fact that the computer doesn’t respond in a timely manner is a challenge for the RPC library which assumes the link partner is real-time ish.

@kwagyeman , Thanks for the info! I guess a more specific question for this would be does the LED flashing red twice have a significance / is it a type of error code that’s built in to the system?