Converting data received through serial back to image using python

I’m trying to send data to a pc using serial over long distance using rs232, then converting the received data back into an image using python, then saving it as a jpeg. I’ve managed to send data to my pc using UART to NodeMcu - Project Discussion - OpenMV Forums. But have been unable to convert the received data back into an image using python as, I’m rather new to it. Any help regarding the matter is most welcomed.

Please use our RPC library. We have an example for this. openmv/README.md at master · openmv/openmv · GitHub

Cool I’ll try it out tomorrow, one more thing how do I then save the images on to my desktop?

That’s up to you via programming in Python. You should look at the API for the pygame library.

The JPG image bytestream though can be directly saved to a file however. There’s no special library that you need. Just write the exact bytes received to a file called *.jpg and any application can open it.

Noted, with thanks

That is odd… I’ve tried to get the all of RPC examples to work but none of them seems to do anything. Correct me if I’m wrong but I’m suppose to run an application on the openmv camera then run another script on python on my desktop pc. What I don’t get is which serial port is being used on the openmv module and how do I go about setting the baudrate for the python scripts?

Hi, the baud rate over the VCP port is 12 Mb/s.

To be clear, run this script unmodified on the PC:

And then put this script on the OpenMV Cam:

https://github.com/openmv/openmv/blob/master/scripts/examples/OpenMV/34-Remote-Control/image_transfer_jpg_streaming_as_the_remote_device_for_your_computer.py