OpenMV H7 for fish identification

Hello all,

I’ve recently ordered an H7 and am quite excited to get going with it. I’m a PhD student and all about developing low-cost instrumentation for scientists (citizen or otherwise). I’ve just finished a project developing a small PCB that lets cheap action cameras be deployed on the seafloor for ~1 month at a time to monitor growth of the corals I study. I’m really curious about using the H7 for two purposes, but am wondering how reliable the software side will be.

Task 1: A static camera which is counting and classifying fish as they swim in and out of the field of view. I’m not concerned about double-counting, but I would like to classify fish to at least the family level and count their abundance, for example the abundances of angelfish, pufferfish, and a parrotfish (just naming three visually distinct groups). I can provide the training data, but these are going to be deployed in dark environments (by comparison to daylight on the surface) of about 1000-5000 lux/ft irradiance. I understand this is a specialized task, but which provided software examples would be a good start? Or is this more of a deep learning task?

Task 2: Track increased object growth over time. I’m actually a coral disease ecologist, and rather than my cameras collecting imagery and having to process it back home, I’d love it if an H7 could process it in the field. I’m pretty sure I can get it to deploy for at least a month since it’s power consumption is about 2x that of the cameras I normally use. What I’d like would be for the H7 to take a photo of a blob (let’s say a brown coral on a mixed background), and determine what percent more it takes up of the frame vs a prior reference image. Color recognition probably isn’t an option here unless the H7 is capable of discerning different shades of brown or green from one another. Is blob recognition an option and can it estimate the size (percentage of frame, not true size) of a blob?