Extracting the pixel value of the image

Hello everyone

I am new to using OpenMV but I am having a few difficulties. I hope you guys can help give me some advice. I am struggling to transfer my python code in analysing the image to the device. At the moment I am stuck with extracting the pixel value in the image. I tried different approaches but keep getting error messages. Here is part of the code in python that I want to implement on the device:

img = Image.open(‘Image1.jpg’)

img1 = img.crop((175, 0, 245, 180))

pix=img1.load()

image_size = img1.size
analysed_array = zeros([image_size[1],1])

for i in range(0, image_size[1]):
for j in range(0, image_size[0]):
analysed_array[i,0] = analysed_array[i,0] + pix[j,i]

In this example code I am reading in the image taken from the camera on my computer. I want to convert the i by j array of the cropped image to a i by 1 array by summing along the x-axis (horizontal). This section of the code works well on python and I get the result I want but when I transfer this to OpenMV device I get errors for using “zeros” and “image.load()”. I am stuck and not sure how to proceed. What I want to achieve is finding the pixel value of each i and j position.

Hope you guys can help and guide on how to achieve my goal.

Thank you so much

Shasi

You’re trying to use bumpy like indexing on the image array. We don’t support that. Please read the API on the image module under the docs.

Mmm, under closer inspection it looks like you are just trying to use desktop python code on the camera, you cannot do that.

Anyway, you shouldn’t try to do any image manipulation in python on the pixel level. This will be far too slow. Please use the methods in the api.

Hi Nyameke