Bricked unit, Firmware Update.

Was playing around with the board today. I am new to it, the IDE said firmware was out of date, so I figured I should update it. Long story short, it did not get through it, and now the Open MV cam is blinking the blue light twice. Blue-Blue-Pause, Blue-Blue-Pause. Nothing I do seems to get it to connect and update. Unit is effectivly bricked. How do I recover from this?

Hi, just try to connect and the IDE will walk you through how to DFU update the board. Are you on windows? If so this this is easy and 100% works. Just click the connect button and then say your board is bricked after connect fails to connect to your board.

If you are on linux or mac let me know.

Hello, thank you for your prompt reply.

For this I am running Windows 10 64-bit. I have tried multiple USB ports, biggest overall issue I seem to be having is the USB isn’t enumerating. Note this unit was working and running code, showing image, etc prior to me going down this firmware update path at the request of the IDE.

Here is a step by step account of what steps I have tried. Note items in “”'s are direct quotes from the software prompts, items in are my user actions and items in {} are my observations

\

1. _2) [Try to connect]
    \
  2. “No OpenMV Cams Found” → [OK]
    \
  3. “Do you have an openMV cam connected and its bricked?” → [YES]
    “Select Board (M4)” → [OK]
    “Erase the Internal file System” → [Yes]
    \
  4. “Disconnect your OpenMV Cam and then reconnect it…” [I disconnect and reconnect and wait, light is still blue-blue-pause (USB never enumerates as far as I can tell)]
    [After 15minutes of waiting (timed with stopwatch). I decide to disconnect, wait 30 seconds, and reconnect again]
    [Wait an additional 15 minutes, no change, so I decide to [click Cancel] on the OpenMV IDE Dialog ("Disconnect…)]
    \
  5. “Unable to connect to your OpenMV Cam’s normal bootloader” → [ok]
    \