AP Mode With WiFi Shield?

Discussion related to "under the hood" OpenMV topics.
zoombach
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 7:46 am

AP Mode With WiFi Shield?

Postby zoombach » Fri Feb 17, 2017 7:54 am

Looks like the hardware would support AP Mode but is it exposed to use in OpenMV MicroPython? Any plans to do so?

Thanks
User avatar
kwagyeman
Posts: 481
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 2:10 pm

Re: AP Mode With WiFi Shield?

Postby kwagyeman » Fri Feb 17, 2017 9:54 am

Um, I remember Ibrahim talking about doing this but I don't think it's been implemented. I'll let Ibrahim respond.
Nyamekye,
User avatar
iabdalkader
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 3:53 pm

Re: AP Mode With WiFi Shield?

Postby iabdalkader » Fri Feb 17, 2017 11:39 am

Yes the HW supports AP mode but it's not implemented yet, I'll work on it ASAP.
zoombach
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 7:46 am

Re: AP Mode With WiFi Shield?

Postby zoombach » Fri Feb 17, 2017 12:07 pm

Thanks, that's great. I'll keep my eyes open for it!
schildroth
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:00 am

Re: AP Mode With WiFi Shield?

Postby schildroth » Mon Mar 06, 2017 7:04 am

How is AP Mode coming along? I'm anxious to try it as well.
User avatar
iabdalkader
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 3:53 pm

Re: AP Mode With WiFi Shield?

Postby iabdalkader » Mon Mar 06, 2017 9:36 pm

I'm working on it, I should have a testing image really soon.
schildroth
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:00 am

Re: AP Mode With WiFi Shield?

Postby schildroth » Tue Mar 07, 2017 10:27 am

:D Awesome! Thanks for the update.
User avatar
iabdalkader
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 3:53 pm

Re: AP Mode With WiFi Shield?

Postby iabdalkader » Thu Mar 09, 2017 4:15 pm

Hi,

AP mode is now supported!

If you can't wait until the next release, you can use the dev firmware images here:

https://github.com/openmv/openmv/tree/master/firmware

Here's an example script:

https://github.com/openmv/openmv/blob/m ... amer_ap.py

Note WINC1500 AP mode has some limitations:

* Only one client can connect at a time, I guess that's okay for a camera.
* It only supports OPEN or WEP security.
* There's a bug in the FW, when the client disconnects any bound sockets are lost (they just stop working).
As a workaround, I set a timeout for the server socket to force it to raise an exception and then reopen it.
schildroth
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:00 am

Re: AP Mode With WiFi Shield?

Postby schildroth » Thu Mar 09, 2017 4:42 pm

Excellent! I'll try it out. Thanks!
schildroth
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:00 am

Re: AP Mode With WiFi Shield?

Postby schildroth » Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:49 am

I'm not seeing how I update the firmware via the IDE. When I click on the 'Firmware Version' button in the lower right, it says I'm up to date and doesn't give an option to load new firmware. Is there a way around this or do I need to use the STM DfuSe upgrade software?
User avatar
iabdalkader
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 3:53 pm

Re: AP Mode With WiFi Shield?

Postby iabdalkader » Wed Mar 22, 2017 9:47 am

schildroth wrote:
Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:49 am
I'm not seeing how I update the firmware via the IDE. When I click on the 'Firmware Version' button in the lower right, it says I'm up to date and doesn't give an option to load new firmware. Is there a way around this or do I need to use the STM DfuSe upgrade software?
Tools->Run Bootloader and then upload the firmware binary ( firmware.bin )
schildroth
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:00 am

Re: AP Mode With WiFi Shield?

Postby schildroth » Wed Mar 22, 2017 12:08 pm

That worked. Awesome! It is working great for a first run. Nice!

Only hiccup is that it freezes every 3 seconds or so. Freezes for about a second and then comes back. Did you see the same thing?
User avatar
iabdalkader
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 3:53 pm

Re: AP Mode With WiFi Shield?

Postby iabdalkader » Wed Mar 22, 2017 5:48 pm

schildroth wrote:
Wed Mar 22, 2017 12:08 pm
That worked. Awesome! It is working great for a first run. Nice!

Only hiccup is that it freezes every 3 seconds or so. Freezes for about a second and then comes back. Did you see the same thing?
I don't remember seeing this issue, but I used the Android app for testing. Try increasing the server and/or client timeout in line 76
https://github.com/openmv/openmv/blob/m ... _ap.py#L76

And line 35
https://github.com/openmv/openmv/blob/m ... _ap.py#L35
schildroth
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:00 am

Re: AP Mode With WiFi Shield?

Postby schildroth » Wed Mar 22, 2017 7:54 pm

Thanks for the quick reply. Increasing the timeouts helped, but doesn't completely eliminate it. I'll play around with it a bit.
User avatar
iabdalkader
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 3:53 pm

Re: AP Mode With WiFi Shield?

Postby iabdalkader » Thu Mar 23, 2017 10:17 pm

schildroth wrote:
Wed Mar 22, 2017 7:54 pm
Thanks for the quick reply. Increasing the timeouts helped, but doesn't completely eliminate it. I'll play around with it a bit.
I'll also do some testing and get back to you.
User avatar
iabdalkader
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 3:53 pm

Re: AP Mode With WiFi Shield?

Postby iabdalkader » Sat Mar 25, 2017 4:27 pm

I did some testing and I'm not seeing the freeze, I'm testing with my Android phone.

Return to “Technical Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests