Robotics competition entry- seeking hints

Hi I’m an Australian mechatronics engineering student working in a team of 6 students from Australia, and other countries, to create an autonomous agent capable of navigating a black and white floor and locating red and blue cubes within this world. I have selected the OpenMV to try and develop a proof of concept to demonstrate to the team that we can use it for the challenge. I have no previous experience in using openmv and have done a free lynda.com course on opencv.
Some of the things I want to proof out are:
-using colour blob detect to find the coloured cubes and hopefully get a range based on knowing their size
-using the field/arena markings as a giant fiducial and extract the robot and cubes coords in relation to this, see below:

-translating position of the cubes in relation to the robot and/or the robots manipulator

• guiding the robot to stay on the black areas

Some hints on how to start, what functions to use and whether this is all possible would be greatly appreciated.

Also, is it possible to use the PWM pins to control servos, not sure why there are only 3 servo pins but more with PWM?
we will probably intergrate with another controller but would still like to explore servo control with OpenMV.

Hi, the OpenMV Cam is VERY good at color tracking. We can do this at extremely high frame rates. What you learned in OpenCV should be directly applicable to the OpenMV Cam.

A few notes:

Getting the range of a blob on it’s size is an inverse square type of thing. I.e. the closer you are the better you know the range. The farther way the worse your detection becomes. So, know this…