Circle detection in a certain position

Hi everyone,

Let me begin by saying I have no electronic/programming background at all, and this is my first time near anything programmable. I’m a mechanical engineering student working on a group project at the moment.

What I am trying to do is get the camera to detect the hole of a rugby ball in a predefined position, once the hole is in the position the camera would send a signal to an Arduino Uno board, which will trigger some actuators to move. If anyone could point me in the right direction to achieve this it would be most appreciated.

Hi, you don’t need the Arduino in the the loop. The OpenMV Cam can directly control motors itself.

As for detecting the hole. We have a find_circles() example script which automatically searches the image for all circles and returns a list of them to you. Then you just need to filter out circles which are not in the right place and turn an I/O pin high or low to drive the motor.

Anyway, to start with please setup a test rig with the OpenMV Cam looking at what you want it to look at. Then, please provide me with some details on what you want to drive.

Thanks for getting back to me so quickly.

The reason for the Arduino I was told is because the actuators are 24V pneumatic and relays will be involved.

So this is the general set up (imagine that the picture frame, white tac and emery board are an aluminium frame)

This is what I am trying to detect,the hole in the centre.

What follows is the basic operation:

The camera, attached to one actuator, is in position above the holder for the ball. This holder is an XY table which will be adjusted to ensure the hole is in the correct position.

Once the hole is in the correct position, the actuator with the camera retracts, and the 2nd actuator now extends, inserting a needle into the hole.

After a certain amount of time has passed, the 2nd actuator retracts, and the camera returns to the home position.