Weed Seeker Sprayer Project Proposal

Hi everyone,

Background (can skip)
So I’m a farmer over here in Australia and we grow a heap of crops. We grow them through the winter, then through the summer, we have fallow (bare) paddocks with only left over wheat or canola stubble in them. We spray these paddocks for weeds in an effort to conserve moisture for the following crops as we are in a low rainfall area, and every little bit of moisture helps. Currently we blanket spray with herbicides, spraying every inch of the paddock trying to kill the growing weeds that suck moisture and nutrients from the soil. But there is a better way.

On to the proposed project
What I want to do it find the green weeds in a paddock, and spray them individually using an OpenMV camera, coupled with an optocoupler mosfet or relay and a pressurised solenoid with spray nozzle.

Here are some details of things:

1. Travel around 14-20km/h or 4-6m/s with the sprayer
  2. Monitor about a 1m wide patch of ground
  3. Have that 1m patch split into 2 sectors (left and right) that then triggers a left or right sprayer
  4. Detect green or greenish weeds on a fairly uniform straw or dirt background
  5. The weeds don’t need to be tracked, but I think just detecting of green is present in the frame (and sector) will be enough
  6. There may be a few ranges, or broad range of greens to find
  7. Trigger the 12v solenoid via a relay (PWM, MOSFET or regular 3.3 triggered)
  8. Chemical then flows through the solenoid, and spray nozzle, spraying the weed
  9. The plan is to have one every meter over a 36 meter boom so 36 camera and solenoid modules
  10. Each module will have its own enclosure
  11. Ultimately (if possible) I would like to also have each one linked somehow to a monitor in the cab of the tractor/sprayer displaying the status of each one
  12. Everything will be open source, including plans for a modular spray trailer, wiring and fluid diagrams and anything else I come across