Obstacle Detection and Avoidance

Real newbie here with machine vision/image processing. Just received my board the other day with the hopes of using it to detect obstacles and avoid them. Right now I am using multiple sonar and IR sensors. Was doing a bunch of research on methods to use monocular vision with OpenCV and it appears totally doable but not sure how to implement on OpenMV.

For instance I found this project, Obstacle detection using OpenCV | Big Face Robotics that uses Opencv with a webcam and several functions from OpenCV but I don’t think they are all currently supported. Also was interest in an approach the detects the ground (floor) plane through segmentation using Eigen transform, think it was the cv function svd. Guess it is essentially for texture mapping.

Again just learning here so forgive if I got my terminology wrong.

Any help in getting started would be appreciated.

thanks
Mike

Hi, so, are you looking to code this in C? Or use the python interface?

If in the python interface you just need to blur the image via the mean() method and then call the canny method on an image to get the image into line segments. Once you do this you can manually look at images pixels in python to implement the rest of the algorithm described in the link.

While accessing the image in python is slow… you don’t have to check every pixel, just every 10-20 pixels. So, things should run quickly. Once you’ve created a list of image heights from the floor you then just test the difference between two measurements and threshold to get an idea of where obstacles are.

Alternatively, if you know the color of the floor you can just find_blobs equal to not the floor color.

Lot’s of different ways to tackle this… all have their trades offs.