Motion tracking

Hi
I’m totally new to Open MV.
I want to track the back and forth motion of the tip of a small rod. The motion would be similar to the tip of a pool cue stick. That is extending and retracting into the field of vision but very little side to side motion. From the examples if have seen it is certainly doable at some level.

My questions relate to what options are available to maximize the accuracy and update rate at the expense of color, complexity and area looked at. I can optimize lighting, back ground and most anything else that will help.

What options are there for simplifying the image to gray scale or even black and white?
Is it possible to only look at only a small strip of the overall field ignoring areas where the rod should never be?
I saw examples for several types of feature identifying algorithms. What is likely to provide the best performance? Is there a function to just look at a rectangle along the center line of the path of the rod and count dark pixels, meaning rod, vs light pixels, meaning back lit background. The number of dark pixels would then be proportional to how far the tip of the rod extends into the field of vision.

Any hints of where to look?
Am I even looking at this the right way?
Thanks In Advance
Chris

Hi, with the OpenMV Cam H7 and the global shutter sensor you’ll be able to get a very high FPS in grayscale. Depending on how low res you can go you can make the FPS higher and higher.

Anyway, um, if you are looking at the object from the top that will work poorly since you can’t determine depth from a 2d image. You can only extrapolate in an 1/r see some so when something is close you get linear distance measurements but you get a non linear response the farther the object moves away.