OpenMV IDE 1.9.0 says Firmware 2.8.0 out of date

Hello. I’m new to OpenMV and running OpenMV IDE version 1.9.0. on Windows 10 Pro x64. I just fired up my OpenMV Cam M4 OV7725 and updated it to Firmware Version 2.8.0. But the IDE still says “Firmware Version: 2.8.0 - [out of date - click here to upgrade]”. I clicked it and got the message "Update your OpenMV Cam’s firmware to the latest version? I clicked OK and got the message “Erase the internal file system?” I clicked Yes and it Erased/Programmed with the message "Done upgrading your OpenMV Cam’s firmware! Click the Ok button… I clicked and got the message "Your OpenMV Cam’s firmware is out of date. Would you like to upgrade? I clicked OK and the cycle repeated from “Erase the internal file system?”
This Firmware Version 2.8.0 seems to work OK.
But the OpenMV IDE version 1.9.0 keeps complains that my OpenMV Cam M4 OV7725 is out of date.
What should I do?
Thanks

Ah, yeah, Ibrahim didn’t update the M4 firmware in the latest drop. The IDE assumes there’s a new firmware for all 3 boards. So, the M4 firmware is out of date… Um, please ignore the IDE for now. The only way to fix this is to release a new M4 firmware.

(We didn’t release one because new stuff doesn’t fit).

Actually we’re going to stop releasing new firmware for the M4 because none of the new features work on it. The last firmware image for M4 is 2.8.0. I’d recommend getting an M7.

So are you saying that those of us that supported the OpenMV movement by buying the original OpenMV M4 are going to be simply cast aside and ignored?

No, I put a lot of effort into making fixes for the M4 into the latest firmware. We just have a lot of work to do on the driver side to shrink things back down again. We were rushing to release the M7 firmware before Maker Fair Bay area and Ibrahim skipped this part.

I can do a patch release for the M4 after Maker Fair for support for it.