Is drawing in color on top of grayscale / binary possible?

Hey guys!

New guy here :slight_smile:
Recently purchased the whole OpenMV “pack” and I’m extremely excited to unleash its potential, learn and make some amazing things :slight_smile:
I’m a mechatronics student and the plan is to implement OpenMV into our current project as the brains behind the navigation and object pickup (autonomous line following rover with a robotic gripper arm).
We’re also planning on implementing it into a high-level drone in the near future :slight_smile:

As I’m just a beginner here, please try to excuse me if my questions might come off a bit basic :stuck_out_tongue:

I’ve searched online, on the forums and combed through the documentation, yet couldn’t find an answer to the question in the title.
Is it possible to use the Global Shutter sensor, snap grayscale images and draw shapes & text in color on top of them?
The closest I’ve gotten was using a bitmap file…But since I want to achieve that on the fly so to speak, it doesn’t help me much :wink:

I’ve seen some people taking a grayscale frame and assigning it to a variable, and then taking a new variable and assigning a conversion from Grayscale to RGB of the initial frame to it.
Basically making a copy of the original frame and converting it…using it as an overlay layer.

img = graycale_Frame
Color_Frame = grayscale_Frame.convert-to-RGB
After they’ve done that it was possible to draw an overlay in color. (I believe that was in openCV)

Anyway, I would really appreciate your assistance / opinion in the matter :slight_smile:

One extra question if I may - After using the linear regression example and working a bit with find_blobs, I can see how useful they can be for line following.
On the linear regression example though, it was recommended to use find_blobs() if our lines are nicely connected.